GMTCC Commencement Held

posted Jun 20, 2013, 8:38 AM by News & Citizen

by Andrew Martin 

   The Green Mountain Technology and Career Center held its annual Commencement and Awards Ceremony on Monday, June 10, in Johnson State College’s Dibden Center for the Arts. Hundreds of friends and family packed the Dibden Center to celebrate the students receiving their certifications in the various fields offered by the technical center. 

The commencement ceremony kicked off with a welcome by GMTCC Director Joseph Teegarden, who in his opening remarks stressed the importance of students pursuing further education before recognizing two teachers at the technical center. The first, Robert Davis, has been battling cancer and it is hoped that he will be returning next year to continue teaching Power Sports. The second, Barbara Flack, is retiring after 28 years as an educator of the Multi-Media program at the center. 

Following Teegarden’s remarks, two student speakers were introduced. The first, Joseph Tamayo, studied Health and Human Services at GMTCC and will be attending the Community College of Vermont in the fall. The second student speaker, Bayan Dawood, also studied Health and Human Services at the technical center and will be attending St. Joseph’s College in Rutland. Both Dawood and Tamayo spoke of their early upbringings abroad and how GMTCC offered them a new, more successful means of learning and choosing a career path. 

After the brief remarks by Tamayo and Dawood, the students with perfect attendance in their time at the technical center were honored. Co-op Coordinator Jeff Limoge then asked that all students w
ho participated in co-ops during their time at GMTCC stand and be recognized. In all, students recognized at the event participated in approximately 21,843 hours of co-op in a broad variety of fields all over northern Vermont. Forestry II student Trey Allen had the most co-op hours of any student with 2,277 hours over his two years in the program. Pre-tech instructor Logan St. Peter honored those students in the National Technical Honor Society following the co-op presentation.

Next in the program came the presentation of the awards and scholarships given out by the technical center and its supporters. Gwenn Kearns, Joseph Hoadley, Joseph Tamayo, and Bayan Dawood each received a $5,000 scholarship during this time that’s meant to help with their college tuition expenses. Dawood also received the William McFarlane Award, and Tamayo was the recipient of the Alfred M. Persico award. Trey Allen received the newly established Bruce Lamb Memorial Lineman Scholarship, and the Director’s Award was given to Computer Net Design student Daniel Safford. A number of other scholarships and awards were given to the students. In total approximately $52,000 in scholarships and awards were given to students as part of the ceremonies. 

Following the awards and scholarships portion of the commencement event the students were awarded their actual certificates by Director Teegarden and Lamoille North Superintendent Joe Ciccolo. Following the presentation of the certificates, the ceremony closed with remarks from Director Teegarden.

In total 134 students received their certifications from the technical center this year. The list of students and their program of study for the 2012-2013 school year can be found below.